Notice: Constant WP_CRON_LOCK_TIMEOUT already defined in /var/www/vhosts/thelonghaul.com.au/wp-config.php on line 93
References & Resources – The Long Haul

TheLongHaul.com.au gathered a lot of qualitative material from our interviewees, but here are some curated hard-copy references and resources that we absolutely, hands-down recommend for all future public transport trips… or high-quality toilet reading in the trailer after you’ve re-read your sides.

RECOMMENDED BOOKS:

Barnett, L. (2014). Advice from the players. London: Nick Hern Books.

Bishop, N. (2015). Auditioning for film and television : secrets from a casting director. London, UK New York: Bloomsbury Methuen Drama.

Bofshever, M. (2006). Your face looks familiar– : how to get ahead as a working actor. Portsmouth, NH: Heinemann.

Brody, J. (2015). The actor’s business plan : a career guide for the acting life. London: Bloomsbury Methuen Drama.

Burt, N. (2013). Acting : cut the crap, cue the truth. Living the life and doing the job. London: Oberon Books.

Cayouette, L. & Dreyfuss, R. (2012). Know smalls parts : an actor’s guide to turning minutes into moments and moments into a career. Place of publication not identified: LA to NOLA Press.

Cohen, R. (2004). Acting professionally : raw facts about careers in acting. Boston, Mass: McGraw-Hill.

Crabtree, J. & Crabtree, J. (2011). Living With a Creative Mind. Sydney: The Zebra Collective. 

Mulcahy, L. (2014). A life in acting : the actor’s guide to creative and career longevity. New York: Allworth Press.

Russell, P. (2008). Acting : make it your business : avoid mistakes and achieve success as a working actor. New York: Back Stage Books.

Wilson, G. (2002). Psychology for performing artists. London Philadelphia: Whurr Publishers.

WEBSITES:

IMDB Pro- http://pro.imdb.com

The Media, Entertainment & Arts Alliance – www.meaa.org

Inside Film Magazine- www.if.com.au

ASIC’s Money Smart- www.moneysmart.gov.au

The Hollywood Reporter- www.hollywoodreporter.com

Beyond Blue- www.beyondblue.org.au

Lifeline Australia – www.lifeline.org.au

David Bertohld’s ‘Hinterland Speech’ http://carveinsnow.blogspot.com.au/2015/07/qut-graduation-ceremony-commencement.html

Exercise Right – www.exerciseright.com.au

ABC Radio National – www.abc.net.au/radionational

The Hub Studio – www.thehubstudio.com.au

The Arts Wellbeing Collective (Melbourne) – https://www.artswellbeingcollective.com.au

Entertainment Assist – https://www.entertainmentassist.org.au

4Change Counselling – www.4change.com.au

Intimacy On Set Guidlines – https://www.itaobrien.com/intimacy-on-set-guidelines.html